imported, the export of crude oil, motor gasoline, middle distillates (diesel fuel, kerosene and heating oil), propane, butanes and heavy fuel oil.

The Board is also required to study and keep under review all matters relating to energy under the jurisdiction of the Parliament of Canada and to recommend such measures as it considers necessary and advisable on the subject. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.

National Farm Products Marketing Council. This Council was established in 1972 under the National Farm Products Marketing Agencies Act (SC 1972, c.65). The Council consults with producers, commodity boards, and provincial and federal governments and co-ordinates their views on the establishment and operation of national marketing agencies. It assists and supervises the operations of agencies and promotes more effective marketing of farm products in interprovincial and export trade. The goal is to maintain and promote an efficient, competitive and expanding agricultural industry.

The Council consists of a chairman, a vice-chairman, two full-time and two part-time members, appointed by the Governor in Council and is directly responsible to the Minister of Agriculture. Council

headquarters is in Ottawa.

National Film Board. The National Film Board, established in 1939, operates under the National Film Act (RSC 1970, c.N-7) which provides for a board of governors of nine members — a Government Film Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, who is chairman of the Board, three members from the Public Service of Canada and five members from outside the Public Service. The Board reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State. It is responsible for advising the Governor in Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national interest and, in particular, films "designed to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations". The Board is responsible for the production and processing of films for government departments. Its head office is in Ottawa and its operational headquarters in Montreal.

National Harbours Board. The Board was established by Act of Parliament in 1936 (RSC 1970, c.N-8). It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at the harbours of St. John's, Nfld.; Halifax, NS; Saint John and Belledune, NB; Sept Îles, Chicoutimi, Baie-des-Ha! Ha!, Quebec, Trois-Rivières and Montreal, Que.; Churchill, Man.; Vancouver and Prince Rupert, BC; the Jacques Cartier and Champlain bridges at Montreal, Que.; and the grain elevators at Prescott and Port Colborne, Ont. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

National Library. The National Library came formally into existence on January 1, 1953, with the proclamation of the National Library Act (RSC 1970, c.N-11). It publishes *Canadiana*, a monthly catalogue of new publications relating to Canada, with an annual cumulation. The Library also publishes other bibliographies. Its Reference Branch maintains the Canadian Union Catalogue which embodies the author catalogues of the major libraries in the 10 provinces and is thus a key to the book collections of the whole country. The Library's own bookstock totals more than 500,000 volumes. The National Librarian reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

National Museums of Canada. The National Museums of Canada is a departmental Crown corporation established April 1, 1968, by the National Museums Act (RSC 1970, c.N-12). The corporation was established to join under one administration the four existing museum activities: the National Gallery of Canada; the National Museum of Man (including the Canadian War Museum); the National Museum of Natural Sciences; and the National Museum of Science and Technology (including the National Aeronautical Collection). The corporation reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

The board of trustees is composed of a chairman, a vice-chairman, an executive committee of five, and seven additional board members. All these members of the board are appointed by the Governor in Council for fixed terms of office. In addition there are two ex officio members, the Director of the Canada Council and the President of the National Research Council.

The purposes of the corporation, according to the Act, are "to demonstrate the products of nature and the works of man, with special but not exclusive reference to Canada, so as to promote interest therein through Canada and to disseminate knowledge thereof". The corporation is empowered to collect, classify, preserve and display objects; undertake or sponsor research; arrange for and sponsor travelling exhibitions of materials in, or related to, its collections and to arrange for the publication or acquisition and the sale to the public of books, pamphlets, replicas and other relevant materials; undertake or sponsor programs for the training of persons in the professions and skills involved in the operation of museums; arrange for or provide professional and technical services to other organizations whose purposes are similar to any of those of the corporation on such terms and conditions as may be approved by the Minister; and generally to do and authorize such things as are incidental or conducive to the attainment of the purposes of the corporation and the exercise of its powers.